Jill Sorensen: Significant Others

About this image

Waitangi Treaty Grounds

© Waitangi Treaty Grounds

Jill Sorensen’s playful installation Significant Others invites her audience to view close up the many and varied significant others in her life.

In general usage the term ‘significant other’ refers to an intimate relationship between two people and acknowledges not only that the gender of a person’s partner need not be specified, but also that a person’s primary intimate relationship may not be sexual in nature. It allows space for intimacy that is separate from sexuality and the strongly enforced normal of ‘romantic love’.

Sorensen approaches the humans, animals and plants with whom she cohabits with compassion and alertness to difference, striving to locate the singularity of each relationship. These moments of relationship are brought together in an experiential installation that allows us to glimpse the small intimacies that arise through the mundane daily acts of caring.

Dates & Times

  • Mon, September 25, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, September 26, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, September 27, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, September 28, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, September 29, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, September 30, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, October 01, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, October 02, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, October 03, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, October 04, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, October 05, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, October 06, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, October 07, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, October 08, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, October 09, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, October 10, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, October 11, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, October 12, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, October 13, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, October 14, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, October 15, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, October 16, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, October 17, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, October 18, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, October 19, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, October 20, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, October 21, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, October 22, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, October 23, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, October 24, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, October 25, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, October 26, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, October 27, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, October 28, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, October 29, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, October 30, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, October 31, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, November 01, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, November 02, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, November 03, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, November 04, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, November 05, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, November 06, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, November 07, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, November 08, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, November 09, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, November 10, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, November 11, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, November 12, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, November 13, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, November 14, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, November 15, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, November 16, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, November 17, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, November 18, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, November 19, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Mon, November 20, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Tue, November 21, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Wed, November 22, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Thu, November 23, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Fri, November 24, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sat, November 25, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)
  • Sun, November 26, 2017 (10:00am to 4:00pm)

More information

LocationWhangarei Art Museum, Town Basin, Dent Street, Whangarei
WebsiteVisit Event Website →
Cost No Charge
RestrictionsAll Ages

Venue details

AddressTown Basin, Dent Street
Phone(09) 430 4240
WebsiteVisit Venue Website →
About this Venue

The Art Museum opened in June 1996 in an historical arts and crafts building in beautiful Cafler Park adjacent to the cultural amenities of Forum North Theatre and the conservatory and Fernery.

It is the public gallery of the city and district and custodian of the extensive city art collection. The Museum is also the venue for national touring exhibitions and internally curated exhibitions and public programmes.