Contrasting coastlines

Northland is home to four unique sub regions - the aquatic playground of the Bay of Islands, the thriving city of Whangārei and iconic Tutukaka Coast, the breathtaking and otherworldly Top of the North, and the hauntingly wild Kauri Coast and Hokianga. 

The upper east coast

Bay of Islands

Ipiipiri, Peowhairangi | Bay of Islands

As one of New Zealand’s most popular summer destinations, the breathtaking natural beauty and 144 islands makes for an idyllic aquatic playground.

Learn more
The lower east coast

Whangārei & Tutukaka Coast

Whangārei Te Terenga Paraoa, Tutukaakaa | Whangārei & Tutukaka Coast

A place of adventure, culture and natural beauty, Whangārei is known for its friendly people, stunning scenery and opportunities to connect with the land, sea and forest.

Learn more
The Northern coast

Top of the North

Te Hiku o Te Ika Nui a Maui | Top of the North

With icons like Ninety Mile Beach and Cape Reinga, the very top of New Zealand offers breathtaking scenery and memorable experiences.

Learn more
The West Coast

Kauri Coast & Hokianga

Kauri Coast & Hokianga | Waipoua me Hokianga a Kupe

The west coast of Northland is home to ancient kauri forests, wild windswept harbours, giant sand dunes, historic country towns and an impressive 153 shipwreck sites.

Learn more

You're in: Visit